Uncategorized

Meeting Authors

As a reader, there is something so incredibly special about meeting one of your favorite authors. This person created a book or world or character that you loved, and you finally get the chance to see them and…well, honestly most of the time you freeze up and say something like “omghiyourbookisamazingthanks” and then stare awkwardly while they finish signing your book.

Totally not speaking from experience or anything.

I’ve been fortunate enough to meet several of my all-time favorite authors. There are rarely bookish events near where I live, so meeting an author usually involves hours of travel. One of my best friends is from Houston, so I’ve managed to coincide visits with author tours. I also attended BEA 2016, and was able to attend signings for a few others. I thought I’d share five authors I’ve met, and also include five that I’m dying to meet one day.

Authors I’ve met:

IMG_7730_2

  1. Maggie Stiefvater. I met Maggie during her book tour for The Raven King in Houston, and this will go down as one of the best bookish moments of my life. She gave an amazing speech for the event, and we got to talk about our love for Ronan. We also laughed about how she’s made my name popular again. Basically, the entire experience was incredible and I felt overwhelmingly happy.

IMG_7766 - Version 2

  1. Leigh Bardugo. Meeting Leigh was honestly the highlight of my BEA 2016 experience. I couldn’t get an actual ticket to her signing, but the staff let me sneak in at the very end of the line. And you guys, she is amazing. We chatted about my French last name and her publicist’s French last name, and how she should write a detective novel about us. Do you ever build someone up in your head as being almost unbearably cool, and then you meet them and they’re somehow even cooler? Yeah, that was me meeting Leigh Bardugo.

IMG_7769_2

  1. Adam Silvera. Another highlight of BEA 2016 was meeting Adam Silvera. His signing line took nearly an hour, but that’s because Adam took the time to have an actual conversation and write a long note in everyone’s ARC. He was so genuine and funny in person, and I left the signing line feeling as if I just had a nice chat with a friend.
  1. Stephanie Perkins. My love for Anna and the French Kiss is eternal, and I was able to meet Stephanie during her book tour for Isla and the Happily Ever After. Even though I managed to spoil the book for everyone (it was my first bookish event and I didn’t realize that everyone else hadn’t read the book yet I’M STILL EMBARASSED), she was SO NICE. She even complemented my fresh Taylor Swift haircut, and we bonded over which of her male characters would actually make the best boyfriend.
  1. Tahereh Mafi. BEA 2016 strikes again! I met Tahereh during her signing for Futhermore ARCs, and I still can’t get over how sweet she was. She took the time to have a chat with everyone, and made you feel as though she was just as excited to meet you. Also, Tahereh Mafi is quite possibly the most stylish person I’ve ever met. Just putting that out there.

 

Authors I’d Love to Meet:

  1. Laini Taylor. I absolutely loved the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy, and Strange the Dreamer, so it’s no surprise that Laini Taylor is on this list. Hopefully I’ll be able to catch her on tour for her next book…whenever that will be!
  1. Sarah Dessen. Sarah Dessen is one of very few authors whose books helped to shape me as a person. I’ve read all of her novels, and they remain my go-to comfort reads. I’ve got my fingers crossed that her book tour for Once and For All will come close enough for me to attend. If so, I have my very old and much loved copy of This Lullaby I’d love for her to sign.
  1. Emery Lord. Y’all, this one is actually happening and I’m so excited! Emery is going on tour for The Names They Gave Us this summer, and one of the events is at my local independent bookstore. I really appreciate and value Emery’s voice, both in her books and on social media (seriously, you need to follow her), so I’m very much looking forward to meeting her in June.
  1. Holly Black. I love Holly Black’s books. I probably don’t talk about them enough on my blog and BookTube channel, but The Curse Workers trilogy and The Darkest Part of the Forest are books that I adore and reread often. Her sequel to The Darkest Part of the Forest, called The Cruel Prince, comes out in January 2018 – so here’s hoping for that book tour!
  1. J.K. Rowling. I mean, duh.

Which authors are on your bookish bucket list to meet?

Leave a Reply

