fandom friday

Fandom Friday: Currently Watching

fandomfriday

Welcome to an all-new installment of Fandom Friday, in which I discuss whatever I’m fangirling over at the moment. This week, I’m chatting about the TV shows I’m currently watching and loving. Admittedly, I’m not the biggest TV person, but lately a few shows have popped up on my radar and really caught my attention. Who doesn’t love a Netflix binge, right?

the 100

The 100, Season 4. Oh how I love The 100. It’s easily one of my favorite TV shows ever. My love for Team Delinquent knows no bounds, and I’m catching up with season 4 via The CW app. A scifi show originally about sending 100 juvenile delinquents to Earth to see if it’s inhabitable, The 100 has become an amazing series about people doing what it takes to survive. This show is not afraid to go there, and every time you think “oh, surely they won’t kill all those people, or send that character down a path of lost humanity, or continue to keep my OTP apart” THEY DO. The writers of The 100 are not afraid, y’all. Season 4 hit the ground running, and I am so nervous yet unbearably excited to see who survives, and if Bellarke finally get together FOR THE LOVE OF GOD.

riverdale

Riverdale, Season 1. When the show was first announced, I was completely uninterested in Riverdale. A modern day, murder-mystery Archie reboot? Pass. But then I watched the pilot, and promptly ate my words. Riverdale is addicting, and surprisingly feminist with Betty, Veronica, and the rest of the Riverdale ladies kicking some serious ass. This is not the love triangle-focused Archie of the past. In fact, Archie Andrews himself is probably the least interesting character in the show for me. My personal favorites? Betty, Veronica, and Jughead (played by Cole Sprouse, who glowed up so well that it makes me a bit uncomfortable). The show’s catching lots of flack for seemingly erasing Jughead’s aroace identity (asexual from the current Jughead run, aromantic from most of Archie’s history), and I absolutely agree that Riverdale missed a huge opportunity for some much needed asexual representation.

being human

Being Human, Season 3. I’m currently in the throws of an Aidan Turner obsession, which has led to me watching all three seasons of Being Human (the original, UK version) in which Turner plays the vampire Mitchell. This show is at times campy and ridiculous, but it’s still just great to watch. The entire premise of Being Human revolves around a vampire, werewolf, and ghost living together. I’m not usually the biggest fan of paranormal, but Being Human works so well. Plus Aidan Turner spends quite a lot of time shirtless, so that’s a huge plus. Mitchell isn’t in the last two seasons of Being Human, so I’ll probably stop watching after I finish season 3 (it’s good, but not that good, I’ll be honest).

and then

And Then There Were None. And Then There Were None is the first television/film adaptation of Agatha Christie’s most popular work of the same name. I’ve never read a Christie before, and generally cannot deal with thrillers/horrors/murder mysteries. To my genuine surprise, I absolutely loved this three-part miniseries. I loved it so much, in fact, that I’m currently watching it for the second time. I picked this up after frantically searching Aidan Turner’s entire filmography on IMDB (I have an obsessive personality, I am aware of my faults). Aidan Turner plays Philip Lombard and looks equally good clean-shaven. I’m a discerning critic, I know.

philipwow

The entire cast is brilliant in this, and it’s also a rather fascinating look into immediately pre-war (1939) British culture. Also, this is one of the most beautifully filmed things I’ve ever seen (and no, I’m not just talking about Aidan Turner’s abs). WATCH IT.

Those are the TV shows I’m currently watching and loving. Let me know what shows you’re fangirling over!

Leave a Reply

